Thomas Magin, chair of the organisation committee, gives an outline of the 40th International German Society for Cell Biology Meeting and points out highlights.

View more ››

Don’t miss the opportunity to share your research with the international experts, leading clinicians, researchers and other stake holders from all over the world

View more ››

Be the first to receive information on registration start, scientific programme updates and more

Sign-Up ››

Abstract submission deadline extended until 05 August 2018

Dear Colleagues and Friends of the DGZ,

On behalf of the board of the German Society of Cell Biology (DGZ) and the local organisation committee, it is my pleasure to announce the 2018 International DGZ meeting that will take place from 17 to 19 September at the University of Leipzig.

We have assembled a very exciting programme with internationally renowned speakers including DGZ members, all representing the forefront of their fields. The focus of our meeting will be on Concepts of Cell Organisation and Dynamics, which harbours a range of thrilling topics including the visualisation of cell organisation, cell fate and cell cycle control, organelle and nuclear dynamics in 4D, self-organisation and size control, cytoskeletal dynamics and mechanotransduction, protein dynamics, integration of cells into tissues and translating cell biology into medical application. Our meeting will be accompanied by the Special Interest Meeting on Self Organisation in Cell Biology organise d by Roland Wedlich-Soeldner. More information on the topics and session chairs can be found on our meeting advertisement poster.

We want to particularly encourage young scientists to register for our meeting: Hand in your latest results as abstracts to apply for a poster or an oral presentation! We will give as many young colleagues as possible the chance to present their science to the cell biology community.

Moreover, we would like to announce the prizes of the DGZ, the winners of which will be honoured at the DGZ international meeting in Leipzig. The Carl Zeiss-Lecture 2018honours our colleague Prof. Dr. Cristina Lo Celso (London) for her work on hematopoietic stem cells using intravital microscopyAdditional prizes include the Nikon Young Investigator Award, the Walter-Fleming Award, the Binder innovation Prize and the Werner-Risau-Prize. Please check out application details for these which are included in our most recent issues of CellNews. Your own application or suggestions for colleagues as prize winners are very welcome!

Importantly, our International Meeting also provides ample opportunities through poster sessions and social events to meet colleagues and to share ideas, which may open avenues of collaboration on all levels. The 2018 meeting venue also brings back our industry partners. We offer meeting participants to discover the latest technology developments in a dynamic industry exhibition. The lecture halls, exhibition space and poster presentations are all in the same building complex guaranteeing excellent conditions for intensive exchange between participants and industry partners. We therefore encourage scientists of all levels to come and join our international meeting.

We are happy that MCI Berlin again joined us for the organisation of the meeting. Upon questions regarding the exhibition and sponsoring please contact For general organisational questions, please contact Belonging questions to the scientific programme and the abstract submission please contact Ms Reichel-Klingmann:

In addition to registration for the entire meeting, day passes are available.

As chair of the organisation committee, I hope to welcome you to the International German Society for Cell Biology Meeting in September 2018 in Leipzig.

With very best wishes,
Thomas Magin

Chief Executive Officer of the German Society for Cell Biology (DGZ)
Chair International Meeting of the German Society for Cell Biology, Leipzig 2018



Abstract Topics

  • Cell cycle control
    Gislene Pereira, Ulrike Gruneberg,Jonathan Pines
  • Mechanisms of cell fate regulation
    Angela M. Nieto, Thomas Brabletz, Henner Farin
  • Organelle dynamics
    Agnieszka Chacinska, Francis Barr, Anne Spang
  • Novel approaches to imaging in cell biology – (Royal Microscopical Society)
    Maddy Parsons, Helge Ewers, Michelle Peckham
  • Nuclear dynamics/communication
    Dorothee Dormann, Denis Lafontaine, Birthe Fahrenkrog
  • Mechanotransduction
    Jan Lammerding, Sara Wickström, Benoît Ladoux
  • Self-organisation
    Karen Alim, Winfried Römer, Karsten Kruse, Min Wu, Jacob Halatek, Jona Kayser,
    Nir Gov, Richard Wheeler, Roland Wedlich-Söldner
  • Visualising cell organisation
    Olivier Pertz, Takanari Inoue, Milos Galic
  • Protein dynamics and cellular function
    Tina Romeis, Marco Trujillo, Katharina Bürstenbinder
  • Cyto-architecture/cytoskeleton dynamics
    Anne Cécile Reymann, Carsten Janke, Klemens Rottner
  •  Principles of size control
    Chris Bakal, Jody Rosenblatt, Rafael Carazo Salas
  • Nucleus in 4D
    William Earnshaw, Gary Karpen, Heinrich Leonhardt, M. Christina Cardoso
  • Integrating cells into tissues
    Damian Brunner, Stefan Luschnig, Caren Norden
  • Translating cell biology into medical applications
    Laura De Rosa, Sabine Eming, Leena Bruckner Tuderman
  • Industry-sponsored sessions

Highlight Session

Christina lo Celso

Healthy and malignant haematopiesis in the bone marrow: active cells in an evolving environment


Carl Zeiss Lecture (Award)

Executive Committee

President of the DGZ e. V.

Prof. Dr. Carien Niessen (Cologne)

Vice President

Prof. Dr. Oliver Gruss (Bonn)

Chief Executive Officer

Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin (Leipzig)

Vice Chief Executive Officer

Prof. Dr. Karin Schumacher (Heidelberg)

Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. M. Cristina Cardoso (Darmstadt)
Prof. Dr. Thomas Dresselhaus (Regensburg)
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Fässler (Martinsried)
Prof. Dr. Volker Gerke (Münster)
Prof. Dr. Ralph Gräf (Potsdam)
Prof. Dr. Harald Herrmann (Heidelberg)
Prof. Dr. Ingrid Hoffmann (Heidelberg)
Prof. Dr. Heinrich Leonhardt (Martinsried)
Dr. rer. nat. Zeynep Ökten (Munich)
Prof. Dr. Britta Qualmann (Jena)
Dr. Simone Reber (Berlin)

Important Deadlines

Subscribe now to receive a newsletter and all the congress updates!